Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Amazon Rainforest


Amazon Rain Forest finds its heart in the tributary rivers and waterfalls that descend deep into the forest and where the humid lowlands bloom and eventually to the Atlantic Ocean.

The Amazon Rain Forest, also known as El Oriente (The East), comprises the Amazon rainforest areas in the eastern part of the country, accounting for just under half of the country .Ecuador hosts close to 6 million km2 of this kind of forest and it is considered one of the 25 hot-spots of biodiversity on the planet with more variety of plants and animals than any other place in the world. The Tropical Rain Forest here covers most of the region, being the Yasuni National Park, with almost 10,000 squares. The climate in this region is relatively uniform with an average of 27º C/ 80º F; but the rainiest months are from March to May with annual precipitation range from 2000 to 3000 mm.

Getting Around

The Rainforest is located in the eastern lowlands of Ecuador. This region descends from the foothills of the Andes to 200 m (650 feet), above sea level, this is the upper edge of the world’s Amazon basin which spreads over 6 provinces: Sucumbíos, Orellana, Napo, Pastaza, Morona Santiago and Zamora Chinchipe, 6 different communities (Cofan, Siona-Secoya, Huaorani, Achuar, Shuar and Quichua) most of them conserve part of their culture and try to live like their ancestors.



  • Lago Agrio, capital of Sucumbíos
  • Tena, capital of Napo
  • Coca, capital of Orellana, officially named Puerto Francisco de Orellana.

History & Culture

Early History

This rainforest is home of thousands of indigenous inhabitants, who make up nearly 200 distinct nations, including the Siona, Secoya, Cofan, Shuar, Zaparo, Huaorani, and Quichua. The indigenous tribes that live in Ecuador rainforest are the ancient keepers and guardians of the World Biological Heritage having lived there for more than 10,000 years, they know its trees, its animals, and its rhythms better than anyone.